APA Citation Examples - References & In-Text - APA Help - 7th Edition

ARTICLES

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Article: General Format

Author Last Name, First & Middle Initials. (Date). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Source, Volume(Issue), Page numbers.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Author Last Name, Year)
Quotation: (Author Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Article: No author

Manna for Motown; Detroit's bankruptcy. (2013, October 5). The Economist, 409, 32(US).

In-text:
Paraphrase: (“Manna for Motown”, 2013)

Quotation: (“Manna for Motown”, 2013, p. 32)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Article: One author

Murphy, L. (2011). Childhood and adolescent violent victimization and the risk of young adult intimate partner violence victimization. Violence & Victims, 26(5), 593-607.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Murphy, 2011)

Quotation: (Murphy, 2011, p. 599)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Article: Two authors

Scheider, S. & Nordheim, G. (2014). Individual service plans: Assisted living’s key to quality care. Long-Term Living, 63(5), 26-28.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Scheider & Nordheim, 2014)

Quotation: (Scheider & Nordheim, 2014, p. 26)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Article: Three or more authors

Peterson, S. A., Aye, T., & Wheeler, P. Y. (2014). Internet use and romantic relationships among college students. North American Journal of Psychology, 16(1), 53.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Peterson et al., 2014)

Quotation: (Peterson et al., 2014, p. 53)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Article: Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journal

Database:

Han, J., & Shen, Y. (2015). Financial development and total factor productivity growth: Evidence from China. Emerging Markets Finance & Trade, 51, S261-S274.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Han & Shen, 2015)

Quotation: (Han & Shen, 2015, p. S271)

Internet:

Flores, D., Hickenlooper, G., & Saxton, R. (2013, September 30). An academic practice partnership: Helping new registered nurses to advance quality and patient safety. OJIN: The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, 18(3).

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Flores, Hickenlooper, & Saxton, 2013)
Quotation: (Flores, Hickenlooper, & Saxton, 2013, para. 5)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Article: Magazine

Database:

Clear as mud. (2014, July 26). The Economist, 412(8897), 26(US).

In-text
Paraphrase: ("Clear as Mud", 2014)

Quotation: ("Clear as Mud", 2014, p. 26)

Internet:

Connelly, E. (2012, July 13). What does organic food mean? http://ezinearticles.com/?What-¬Does-¬Organic-¬Food-¬Mean?&id=7176117

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Connelly, 2012)

Quotation: (Connelly, 2012, para. 5)

For further information, please see the Magazine Articles References page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Article: Newspaper

Database, with author

Fisher, P. (2014, July 25). Ancient history shows us just how bad and volatile climate change could get. Washington Post.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Fisher, 2014)

Quotation (Fisher, 2014, para. 15)

Internet, no author

Executive pay could add tension to talks: Base salaries rise as cuts sought. (2008, March 25). Detroit Free Press.

In-text:
Paraphrase: ("Executive Pay," 2008)

Quotation: ("Executive Pay," 2008, para. 5)

For further information, please see the Newspaper Article References page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Editorial

The phony ‘narrow network’ scare [Editorial]. (2014, July 25). The New York Times, A26.

In-text:
Paraphrase: ("The phony 'narrow network'," 2014)
Quotation: ("The phony 'narrow network'," 2014, p. A26)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Print version

with author

Honan, M. (2014, August). House broken. Wired, 22(8), 58.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Honan, 2014)

Quotation: (Honan, 2014, p. 58)

no author

IRS reinstates practitioners. (2014, July). Accounting Today, 28(7), 13.

In-text:
Paraphrase: ("IRS reinstates practitioners," 2014)
Quotation: ("IRS reinstates practitioners," 2014, p. 13)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Using DOI in Reference

Naidu, C. V., Sathyanarayana, G. C., Durgalakshmi, K., Malleswara Rao, L., & Nagaratna, K. (2010). Is winter monsoon rainfall over South Peninsular India increasing in global warming era? Global and Planetary Change, 72(1-2), 69-72. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.gloplacha.2010.04.002

In-text
Paraphrase: (Naidu, Sathyanarayana, Durgalakshmi, Malleswara Rao, & Nagaratna, 2010)

Quotation: (Naidu, Sathyanarayana, Durgalakshmi, Malleswara Rao, & Nagaratna, 2010, p. 70)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Articles obtained via Interlibrary Loan

Cite as articles from a print source.

BOOKS

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: General Format

Author Last Name, First & Middle Initials. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book.Publisher.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Last Name, Year)

Quotation: (Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: No author. Show as a Title entry

Fodor's Amsterdam & the Netherlands. (2011). Fodor’s Travel Publications.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Fodor’s Amsterdam, 2011)

Quotation: (Fodor’s Amsterdam, 2011, pp. 23-24)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: One author

Waller, B. N. (2010). Consider ethics: Theory, readings, and contemporary issues (3rd ed.). Prentice Hall.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Waller, 2010)

Quotation: (Waller, 2010, pp. 74-75)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: Two authors

Thorne, B. M., & Henley, T. B. (2005). Connections in the history and systems of psychology (3rd ed.). Wadsworth.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Thorne & Henley, 2005)

Quotation: (Thorne & Henley, 2005, p. 24)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: Three or more authors

Wittenberg-Lyles, E., Goldsmith, J., Ferrell, B. & Ragan, S. L. (2013). Communication in palliative nursing. Oxford University Press.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Wittenberg-Lyles, et al., 2013)

Quotation: (Wittenberg-Lyles, et al., 2013, p. 8)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: Organization as author

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). American Psychiatric Publishing.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
Quotation: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013, p. 144)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: Editor considered author

Quandt, T., & Kroger, S. (Eds.). (2014). Multiplayer: The social aspects of digital gaming. Routledge.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Quandt & Kroger, 2014)

Quotation: (Quandt & Kroger, 2014, p. 58)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: Author and Translator

Allende, I. (2013). Maya’s notebook: a novel. (A. McLean, Trans.). Harper.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Allende, 2013)

Quotation: (Allende, 2013, p. 34)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: Edition

DelPo, A., & Guerin, L. (2013). Dealing with problem employees: A legal guide (7th ed.). Nolo.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (DelPo & Guerin, 2013)

Quotation: (DelPo & Guerin, 2013, pp. 10-11)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Book from a set (several volumes)

Riggs, T. (Ed.). (2013). Contemporary theatre, film and television (Vol. 123). Gale.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Riggs, 2013)

Quotation: (Riggs, 2013, p. 166)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Books: Chapter or essay in a collection

Rachels, J. (2010). God and human attitudes. In B. N. Waller (Ed.), Consider ethics: Theory, readings, and contemporary issues (3rd ed., pp. 11-15). Prentice Hall.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Rachels, 2010)

Quotation: (Rachels, 2010, p. 13)

The publication date should be copyright year of the book the essay was found in.

For further information, please see the Chapter in an Edited Book/Ebook References page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Dictionaries / Definitions

Internet:

Speculate. (2014). In Merriam-Webster. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/speculate

In-text: (“Speculate,” 2014)

Print:

Speculate. (1999). In M. Agnes (Ed.)., Webster’s new world college dictionary (4th ed., p. 1377). Macmillan.

In-text: (“Speculate”, 1999)

For further information, please see the Dictionary References page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Encyclopedias

With author

White, N. A. (2012). Juvenile and youth offenders. In S. M. Barton-Bellessa (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Community Corrections (pp. 221-225). SAGE Reference.

In-text
Paraphrase: (White, 2012)

Quotation: (White, 2012, p. 222)

No author

Compensation. (2012). In S. D. Hill (Ed.), Encyclopedia of management (7th ed., pp. 127-135). Gale.

In-text
Paraphrase: (“Compensation,” 2012)

Quotation: (“Compensation,” 2012, p. 134)

Internet: with author, no date

Smuts, A. (n.d.). Humor. In J. Fieser & B. Dowden (Eds.), Internet encyclopedia of philosophy. http://www.iep.utm.edu/humor/

In-text
Paraphrase: (Smuts, n.d.).

Quotation: (Smuts, n.d., Relief Theory section, para. 3)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

E-books

E-book from Library

Loguidice, B., & Barton, M. (2014). Vintage game consoles: An inside look at Apple, Atari, Commodore, Nintendo, and the greatest gaming platforms of all time. Routledge.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Loguidice & Barton, 2014)

Quotation: (Loguidice & Barton, 2014, p. 34)

E-book from the web

Seton, E. T. (1911). The Arctic prairies: A canoe-journey of 2,000 miles in search of the caribou. http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/6818

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Seton, 1911)

Quotation: (Seton, 1911, p. 38-39)

Downloaded e-book

Yin, R. K. (2008). Case study research design and methods: Applied social research methods (4th ed., Vol. 5), SAGE.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Yin, 2008).

Quotation: (Yin, 2008, p. 47)

WEBSITES

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Website: General Format

Author Last Name, Author First & Middle Initials. (Date). Title of webpage. http://webaddressofwebsite

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Author Last Name, Year).
Quotation: (Author Last Name, Year, Section Title, para. Paragraph Number).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Web document: with author; with date

Reiter, P. (2007, November). Human ecology and human behavior: Climate change and health in perspective. http://www.csccc.info/reports/report_22.pdf

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Reiter, 2007). Quotation: (Reiter, 2007, para. 3).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Web document: no author; no date

Internet crime prevention tips. (n.d.). http://www.ic3.gov/preventiontips.aspx

In-text:
Paraphrase: ("Internet crime prevention tips," n.d.).
Quotation: ("Internet crime prevention tips," n.d., Credit Card Fraud section).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Web document: no author, with date (e.g. news website):

More tests needed before Ohio city gets water back. (2014, August 4). http://www.foxnews.com/us/2014/08/03/toledo-tells-residents-not-to-drink-water-due-to-presence-toxins/

In-text:
Paraphrase: (“More Tests Needed”, 2014). Quotation: (“More Tests Needed”, 2014, para. 3).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Web document: organization as author

With date

World Health Organization. (2013, August). The world health report 2013: Research for universal health coverage. http://www.who.int/whr/2013/report/en/

In-text:
Paraphrase: (World Health Organization, 2013).
Quotation: (World Health Organization, 2013, para. 8).

No date

United States Sentencing Commission. (n.d.). An overview of the federal sentencing guidelines. http://www.ussc.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/about/overview/Overview_Federal_Sentencing_Guidelines.pdf

In-text:
Paraphrase: (United States Sentencing Commission, n.d.).
Quotation: (United States Sentencing Commission, n.d., Conclusion section, para. 12).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Web document: Government report

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. (2013). Health, United States, 2013 (DHHS Publication No. 2014-1232). http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/hus/hus13.pdf

In-text:
Paraphrase: (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, 2013).
Quotation: (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, 2013, p. 10).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Company Report: from company / organization website:

NIKE, Inc. (2013). Annual report on form 10-K. http://investors.nikeinc.com/files/doc_financials/AnnualReports/2013/docs/nike-2013-form-10K.pdf

In-text:
Paraphrase: (NIKE, 2013). Quotation: (NIKE, 2013, p. 50).

LIBRARY DATABASES

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

The examples below work for most article databases.
For additional examples, look in the Articles menu.

Newspaper:

Power, S. (2008, March 17). EPA says carbon caps won't harm economy much. Wall Street Journal, A.2.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Power, 2008). Quotation: (Power, 2008, para. 5).

Magazine:

Marino, S. (1999, June 7). The difference between managing and leading. Industry Week, 248(11), 10.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Marino, 1999). Quotation: (Marino, 1999, p. 10).

Journal:

Han, J., & Shen, Y. (2015). Financial development and total factor productivity growth: Evidence from China. Emerging Markets Finance & Trade, 51, S261-S274.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Han & Shen, 2015). Quotation: (Han & Shen, 2015, p. S271).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

ACM Digital Library

Conference Proceeding:

Stein, C., Limper, M., & Kuijper, A. (2014). Spatial data structures for accelerated 3D visibility computation to enable large model visualization on the web. Proceedings of the Nineteenth International ACM Conference on 3D Web Technologies, 53-61.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Stein, Limper, & Kuijper, 2014).
Quotation: (Stein, Limper, & Kuijper, 2014, para. 2).

Article:

Kamp, P.-H. (2014, August). Quality software costs money--Heartbleed was free. Communications of the ACM, 57(8), 49-51.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Kamp, 2014). Quotation: (Kamp, 2014, p. 50).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

A to Z World Culture (World Trade Press)

World Trade Press. (2014). Thailand: Life cycle. A to Z World Culture.

In-text
Paraphrase: (World Trade Press, 2014).
Quotation: (World Trade Press, 2014, Marriage section, para. 1).

A to Z Maps (World Trade Press)

Presentation

NASA Global View Maps. (2000, March). Carbon monoxide [Presentation]. A to Z Maps Online.

In-text
(NASA Global View Maps, 2000).

Individual Map

NASA Earth Observatory - Climate Change Maps. (2004, December 1 – 2005, January 1). NASA Earth Observations (NEO): Blue marble: Next generation (Terra/MODIS). A to Z Maps Online.

In-text
(NASA Earth Observatory, 2004).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

CQ Researcher

Mantel, B. (2014, January 24). Minimum wage. CQ Researcher, 24(4), 73-96.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Mantel, 2014). Quotation: (Mantel, 2014, p. 89).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

E-books

E-book from Library

Loguidice, B., & Barton, M. (2014). Vintage game consoles: An inside look at Apple, Atari, Commodore, Nintendo, and the greatest gaming platforms of all time. Routledge.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Loguidice & Barton, 2014). Quotation: (Loguidice & Barton, 2014, p. 34).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Facts and Comparisons eAnswers

Donepezil Hydrochloride Oral. (2020, November 8). In Drug Facts and Comparisons. Facts and Comparisons eAnswers.

In-text
Paraphrase: ("Donepezil Hydrochloride," 2020).
Quotation ("Donepezil Hydrochloride," 2020, Indications section).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Gale eBooks

With author

White, N. A. (2012). Juvenile and youth offenders. In S. M. Barton-Bellessa (Ed.), Encyclopedia of community corrections (pp. 221-225). SAGE Reference.

In-text
Paraphrase: (White, 2012). Quotation: (White, 2012, p. 222).

No author

Compensation. (2012). In S. D. Hill (Ed.), Encyclopedia of management (7th ed., pp. 127-135). Gale.

In-text
Paraphrase: (“Compensation,” 2012). Quotation: (“Compensation,” 2012, p. 134).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Gale Opposing Viewpoints

Viewpoint Essay

Diller, V. (2013). Altered fashion magazine photographs contribute to unrealistic body images. In L. I. Gerdes (Ed.), The Culture of Beauty. Greenhaven Press.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Diller, 2013). Quotation: (Diller, 2013, para. 5).

Magazine Article

Jones, A. (2014, April 4). Alzheimer's is expensive, deadly and growing. So where's the research money? Newsweek, 162(13), 1.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Jones, 2014). Quotation: (Jones, 2014, p. 1).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Gale Science

Experiments

Nelson, M. R. (2010). Insects. In K. Krapp (Ed.), Experiment central: Understanding scientific principles through projects (2nd ed.). UXL.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Nelson, 2010). Quotation: (Nelson, 2010, para. 8).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Mergent Online

Dunkin' Brands Group, Inc. (2014). Annual income statement. Mergent Online.

In-text: (Dunkin' Brands Group, Inc., 2014).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Research Starters are located in the Baker Library Search.

Tarjan, S. (2013, January). Bariatric surgery. Magill's medical guide (Online edition). Research Starters in Baker Library Search.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Tarjan, 2013). Quotation: (Tarjan, 2013, para. 7).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Salem Press Resources

Sexson, L. (2004). The Bhagavad Gita is created. In M. W. Chavalas (Ed.), Great events from history: The ancient world, prehistory-476 C.E. (2 vols). Salem Press.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Sexson, 2004). Quotation: (Sexson, 2004, para. 3).

OTHER

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Company Report: from company / organization website:

NIKE, Inc. (2013). Annual report on form 10-K. http://investors.nikeinc.com/files/doc_financials/AnnualReports/2013/docs/nike-2013-form-10K.pdf

In-text:
Paraphrase: (NIKE, 2013). Quotation: (NIKE, 2013, p. 50).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Blogs/Wikis: may not be accepted as a scholarly source

Shoemaker, S. (2006, June 8). In praise of Netflix. Laguna Lacuna. http://lagunalacuna.blogspot.com/search?q=in+praise+of+netflix

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Shoemaker, 2006). Quotation: (Shoemaker, 2006, para. 4).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Brochure/pamphlet

Print:

American Institute for Cancer Research. (2010). Start where you are [Brochure]. Washington, DC: Author.

In-text:
Paraphrase: (American Institute for Cancer Research, 2000).
Quotation: (American Institute for Cancer Research, 2000, p. 4).

Internet:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (n.d.) Antibiotics aren't always the answer [Brochure]. http://www.cdc.gov/getsmart/campaign-materials/print-materials/brochure-answer.pdf

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Centers for Disease Control, n.d.).
Quotation: (Centers for Disease Control, n.d., p. 2).

For further information, please see the Brochure References page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Conference Paper

Bancroft, D., & Lowe, S. (2006). Helping users help themselves: Evaluating the off-campus library services website. In J. Garrison (Ed.), Twelfth Off-campus Library Services Conference Proceedings (pp. 11-23). Mount Pleasant: Central Michigan University.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Bancroft & Lowe, 2006). Quotation: (Bancroft & Lowe, 2006, p. 15).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Class/Course Documents

Course Document

Baker College. (2008, Summer). Developing a time management plan [Course document]. SPK 2010: Oral Communication.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Baker College, 2008). Quotation: (Baker College, 2008, para. 3).

Discussion Board Posts

Smith, A. B. (2008, Spring). Time management strategies [Discussion board message]. SPK 2010: Oral Communication.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Smith, 2008). Quotation: (Smith, 2008, para. 2).

Class handout

Baker College. (2013, Summer). Essay organization [Class handout]. COM 1010: Composition and Critical Thinking I.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Baker College, 2013); Quotation: (Baker College, 2013, p. 2).

Lectures

Barron, G. (2015, Fall). Race and ethnicity [Lecture]. Canvas@BC. https://baker.instructure.com/

In-text
Paraphrase: (Barron, 2015); Quotation: (Barron, 2015).

Presentations

Johnson, J. J. (2016, Spring). Abnormal behaviors [PowerPoint slides]. Canvas@BC. https://baker.instructure.com/

In-text
Paraphrase: (Johnson, 2016). Quotation: (Johnson, 2016, slide 14).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Dictionaries / Definitions

Internet:

Speculate. (2014). In Merriam-Webster. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/speculate

In-text: (“Speculate,” 2014).

Print:

Speculate. (1999). In M. Agnes (Ed.)., Webster’s new world college dictionary (4th ed., p. 1377). Macmillan.

In-text: (“Speculate”, 1999).

For further information, please see the Dictionary References page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Doctoral Dissertations / Master's Theses

Published, retrieved from a library database

Roi, R. C. (2006). Leadership, corporate culture and financial performance (UMI No. 3223891). [Doctoral dissertation, University of San Francisco]. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Roi, 2006)

Quotation: (Roi, 2006, p. 89)

Published, obtained from PQDT (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses) Open

Pandit, G. (2011). Critical reflection in collective knowledge creation: A mixed-method case study of middle managers' reflection and interaction in a public organization (UMI No. AAT 3426943). [Doctoral dissertation, George Washington University]. http://pqdtopen.proquest.com/#viewpdf?dispub=3426943

In-text
Paraphrase: (Pandit, 2011)

Quotation: (Pandit, 2011, p. 89)

Unpublished, obtained from a university

Myers, K. H. (2004). Juvenile recidivism: An investigation into the reduction of future law violations of incarcerated youth in Louisiana [Unpublished master's thesis]. McNeese State University.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Myers, 2004)

Quotation: (Myers, 2004, p. 28-29)

For further information, please see the following pages on the APA Style Blog:

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Media: Film, Motion Picture, TV

Film / Motion Picture

Richter, J. (Producer), & Hausmann, J. (Director). (1985). Cezanne: The man and the mountain [Motion picture]. Home Vision.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Richter & Hausmann, 1985). Quotation: (Richter & Hausmann, 1985, Timestamp).

Television: Single Program

Safer, M. (Narr.). (1993, September 19). Yes...But is it art? [Television broadcast]. Central Broadcasting Service.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Safer, 1993). Quotation: (Safer, 1993, Timestamp).

Television: Episode from a series

Woodard, K. (Writer). (2005). Katrina's animal rescue [Television series episode]. In B. Murphy (Producer), Nature. Thirteen/WNET New York.

In-text
Paraphrase: (Woodward, 2005). Quotation: (Woodward, 2005, Timestamp).

For further information, please see the Film and Television References page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Scout AI:

Praxis. (2025). Scout AI (Aug 25 version) [Large language model]. https://praxis-ai.com/

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Praxis, 2025)

ChatGPT:

OpenAI. (2023). ChatGPT (Mar 14 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat

In-text:
Paraphrase: (OpenAI, 2023)

Gemini:

Google. (2025). Gemini (Jun 17 version) [Large language model]. https://gemini.google.com/app

In-text:
Paraphrase: (Google, 2025)

For further information, please see the How to Cite ChatGPT page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Government Document

United States Government Accountability Office. (2009). Litigation has decreased and EPA needs betteriInformation on site cleanup and cost issues to estimate future program funding requirements [GAO-09-656]. Retrieved from http://www.gao.gov/new.items/d09656.pdf

In-text
Paraphrase: First instance (United States Government Accountability Office, 2009). Further instances (U. S. GAO, 2009).
Quotation: First instance (United States Government Accountability Office, 2009, p. 45). Further instances (U. S. GAO, 2009, p. 49).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Photos/Images

Images: with title, with Photographer name and date

Baumel, A. (2010). Cholera treatment center in Haiti [Online image]. Doctors Without Borders. https://www.doctorswithoutborders.org

Images: with title, no photographer name or date

Spices for the curry [Online image]. (n.d.). http://jdtr.pagesperso-orange.fr/marsau3.htm

Images: no title, photographer name or date

[Untitled photograph of a baby chimpanzee]. (n.d.). Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:500px_photo_(188689973).jpeg

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Interviews

Recorded & archived at a website

PBS & WGBH (Boston). (2009, February 9). America's Ballroom Challenge: Interview with the show's creator: Aida Moreno. Available at the PBS website: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/ballroomchallenge/interview.html

Personal: not archived

Show only in-text. Format:
Last name, First & Middle Initials (personal communication, Month Date, year).

DO NOT INCLUDE IN REFERENCES.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Law / Legal Documents

Michigan law (Michigan Compiled Laws Annotated)

Parts of citation:

Title of the act. MCLA abbreviated title. Section number. (Publisher year).

Example:

Safe Drinking Water Act. Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. 325.1007 (West 1999).

Michigan Supreme Court case

Parts of citation:

First party v. Second party, Volume number Michigan Reports abbreviated title First page of case (year case decided).

Example:

People v. Davis, 472 Mich. 156 (2005).

Michigan Court of Appeals case

Parts of citation:

First party v. Second party, Volume number Michigan Appeals Reports abbreviation First page of case (year case decided).

Example:

Tuggle v. Department of State Police, 269 Mich App 657 (2005).

Federal Court case

Parts of citation:

Title of case. Number of the case. Name of court that decided the case. Date of decision.

Example:

United States Department of Defense v. Federal Labor Relations Authority. No 92-1223. Supreme Ct. of the US. 23 February 1994.

Adapted with permission from Lansing Community College's APA Print and Media Sources page.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Personal Communication

Show only in-text. Format:
First & Middle initials Last name (personal communication, Month Day, year).

DO NOT INCLUDE IN REFERENCES.

Example: T. Betts (personal communication, August 3, 2015)

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Podcasts - audio and video

Audio Podcast

Duchon, R. (2007). Ashes to hope: Overcoming the Detroit riots. [Audio podcast]. Michigan Radio. http://pod.michiganradio.org/podcasts/ashes1.mp3

In-text
Paraphrase: (Duchon, 2007). Quotation:(Duchon, 2007, Timestamp)

Video Podcast

ABC News (Producer). (2007, September 21). Dying professor's lecture of a lifetime [Video podcast]. In Good morning America: Person of the week. . ABC News. http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/PersonOfWeek/Story?id=3633945&page=1

In-text
Paraphrase: (ABC News, 2007). Quotation: (ABC News, 2007, Timestamp).

Navasky, M. & O'Connor, K. (Producers). (2006, November 21). Living old (W. Lyman, Narrator) [Video podcast]. PBS. http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/livingold/

In-text
Paraphrase: (Navasky & O'Connor, 2006). Quotation: (Navasky & O'Connor, 2006, ).

For further information, please see the Podcast References page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Quotations

Wilson, W. (1919). In Respectfully quoted: A dictionary of quotations (Number 871). Retrieved from http://www.bartleby.com/73/871.html

In-text: (Wilson, 1919).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Sound recording

Bolton, G. C. (Speaker). (1975). Towards an Australian environmental history [Cassette recording]. Media Services, Murdoch University.

In-text:
Paraphrase:(Bolton, 1975). Quotation:(Bolton, 1975, <track title>).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Speech

Speech from a website:

King, M. L. Jr. (1963). "I have a dream...". http://www.archives.gov/press/exhibits/dream-speech.pdf

In-text: Paraphrase: (King, 1963). Quotation: (King, 1963, para. 4).

Speech from a library database:

King, M. L., Jr. (1963, August 28). I have a dream address.

In-text: Paraphrase: (King, 1963). Quotation: (King, 1963, para. 5).

Speech from an e-book:

Franklin D. Roosevelt's Pearl Harbor Speech. (2004). In C. Rose (Ed.), American Decades Primary Sources (Vol. 5, pp. 213-215). Gale.

In-text: Paraphrase: ("Franklin D. Roosevelt's", 2004). Quotation: ("Franklin D. Roosevelt's", 2004, p. 213).

Speech from a print book:

Hillstrom, L. C. (2009). The attack on Pearl Harbor. Omnigraphics.

In-text: President Roosevelt's speech to declare war on Japan began, "Yesterday, December 7, 1941- a date which will live in infamy- the United States of America was suddenly and deliberately attacked" (as cited in Hillstrom, 2009, p. 189).

Speech heard in person:

Clinton, H. R. (2014, October 16). Rally for Michigan Democrats. Speech presented at Oakland University, Rochester, MI.

In-text: (Clinton, 2014).

Speech seen on television:

Obama, B. (2014, November 20). Speech on immigration reform [TV series]. ABC News.

In-text: (Obama, 2014).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

X post (may not be accepted as a scholarly source)

Author, A. @X handle. (Year, Month Day). Content of the X post up to the first 20 words. X. https://x.com/ [url]

In-text: (X handle, Year)

Organization as author

University of Michigan. (2020, August 23). These are unprecedented times, and the #COVID19 pandemic has caused mental health concerns to skyrocket. But businesses can support their... [X post with link attached]. https://x.com/UMich/status/1297541605474238464

In-text
Paraphrase and Quotation: (University of Michigan, 2020).

For further information, please see the X References page on the APA Style Blog.

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

Working Paper / In press

Guéguen, N. (In Press, Uncorrected Proof). Dead indoor plants strengthen belief in global warming. [Abstract]. Journal of Environmental Psychology. Retrieved from ScienceDirect database.

In-text: (Guéguen, in press).

Based on Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (2019) Guidelines

Example(s):

YouTube

Personal author

Goyen, A. (2014, February 22). Downtown Marquette dog sled races [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gW3CNCGGgTY

In-text
Paraphrase: (Goyen, 2014)

Quotation: Goyen (2014)

Organization as author

University of Chicago. (2007, December 12). European cartographers and the Ottoman world, 1500--1750 [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xax5d4IKqrQ

In-text
Paraphrase: (University of Chicago, 2007)

Quotation: University of Chicago (2007)

For further information, please see the YouTube Video References page on the APA Style Blog.

Baker College Research Guides

APA Help - 7th Edition

ARTICLES

BOOKS

WEBSITES

LIBRARY DATABASES

OTHER

Baker College
Research Guides