Baker College
Research Guides
Statistics
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
Find Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- AtoZdatabases.com This link opens in a new window Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives and 2 million new businesses. Includes data on over 200 million residents as well as new movers/homeowners. Special features include a background and criminal history search. Information provided on U. S. healthcare professionals. Includes a jobs database and email marketing.
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business related scholarly and peer-reviewed sources and journals. Includes private and public company information, industry reports, case studies, SWOT analysis, market research reports, etc.
- Gale DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window Generate demographic reports, create sales lead lists, find a business or person, access census data, and research your market and competition.
Internet Statistics
- Browser Statistics Trend in browser usage
- Internet World Stats "Internet World Stats is an International website that features up to date world Internet Usage, Population Statistics and Internet Market Research Data, for over 233 individual countries and world regions."
Michigan Statistics
U.S. Government Resources
- Bureau of Justice Statistics Contains data and publications concerning subjects related to the U.S. Department of Justice.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Contains data and publications concerning subjects related to the workforce.
- Data.gov Provides access to U.S. Government datasets in a variety of areas.
- Federal Reserve - Data This site provides access to a variety of economic and financial data.
- GPO Provides access to U.S. Government datasets in a variety of areas.
- Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Provides online access to historical statistical data in a variety of areas.
- Immigration Data & Statistics Immigration statistics provided by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).
- National Science Foundation - Statistics "Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources"
- Statistics Sites on the World Wide Web (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) An index of Internet statistics sites provided by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- TradeStats Express "Get the latest annual and quarterly trade data with TradeStats Express."
- U.S. Census Bureau This site is a central clearinghouse for current and historical census data.
International Statistics
- Eurostat This site provides access to European Commission statistics and information.
- Nationmaster.com This site offers comparative statistics for countries of the world.
- United Nations Statistics Division This site offers a variety of world statistics.
- World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) "WHOSIS... is an interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States."
- World Trade Organization - Trade and Tariff Data This site offers international trade statistics.
Gapminder
- 200 Countries, 200 Years, in Four Minutes: Joy of Stats (4/6)An example of how the Gapminder tool can be used.
