Baker College
Research Guides
- Library Resources
- Research Guides
- Open Access and Hidden Websites
- Open Access: By Agency
Open Access and Hidden Websites
National Libraries
- Library of Congress "...nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress....also the largest library in the world. The Library's mission is to make its resources available and useful to the Congress and the American people and to sustain and preserve a universal collection of knowledge and creativity for future generations."
- National Agricultural Library "The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries of the United States...houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections"
- National Library of Education (NLE) "... federal government's primary resource center for education information..."
- National Library of Medicine (NLM) "The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care."
Federal Government Resources
Archives
- Internet Archive " ...a non-profit (service) founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. "
- OAIster "...union catalog of millions of records representing open archive digital resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH);..... more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors."
- WebCite "...International Internet Preservation Consortium, is an on-demand archiving system for webreferences (cited webpages and websites, or other kinds of Internet-accessible digital objects)". Use BOOKMARKLET to add this site to favorites. Favorites will be accessible even when the original sites are taken down.
Other
- Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse "...documents and information from civil right cases in specific categories across the United States". Created and maintained by the University of Michigan Law School.
- Digital Library of the Commons (DLC) ...gateway to the international literature on the commons. The DLC provides free and open access to full-text articles, papers, and dissertations.
- EconPapers "...access to the largest collection of online Economics working papers and journal articles. The majority of the full text files are freely available". Some are fee-based.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center Provides access to education articles about learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
- Guidestar Information on non-profit organizations.
- Open Knowledge International ....a not-for-profit organization founded in 2004 and dedicated to promoting open knowledge in all its forms.