Baker College
Research Guides
A-Z Resource List
This guide contains a list of resources organized by name.
P
- Poetry & Short Story Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This full-text database provides a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques — including contemporary content from the finest publishers.
- Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
- Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for students, researchers and government institutions, this full-text database covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
- Primary Search (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Designed for elementary school libraries, Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration.
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Electronic versions of printed books. E-books can be viewed on any device connected to the internet. Some are available for download.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window Find articles from leading nursing and allied health journals and magazines. This database covers the fields of nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
- ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window Provides access to leading psychology and psychosomatic journals plus coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, addiction, social welfare and more. Contains more than 650 scholarly/peer-reviewed titles, with 550+ available in full-text. Also includes 4,000 full-text dissertations.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window PsychiatryOnline.org offers comprehensive online access to psychiatric textbooks, journals, and professional development tools. It features the DMS Library, which includes the DSM-5, DMS-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This full-text database is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
- Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window A nonprofit open-access science, technology, and medicine publisher with a library of open-access journals and other scientific literature under an open-content license.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window A full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Q
R
- Referencia Latina (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
- Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
S
- Salem Health This link opens in a new window Salem Health: Psychology ~ Mental Health. Along with the complete articles and sidebars from the printed set, also included are hundreds of photographs, illustrations, indexes, appendixes, and directories.
- Salem History This link opens in a new window Includes Encyclopedia of American Business, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, and Milestone Documents.
- Salem Literature This link opens in a new window Critical reviews and essays on several classic works and authors.
- Salem Science This link opens in a new window Includes Forensic Science and the Encyclopedia of Global Warming.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Access to engineering, physical science, health, and life science full-text articles. Peer reviewed. The green symbol next to the title indicates that the full-text is available.
This link opens in a new window
- Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
- Small Business Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Small Business Source offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.
- Small Engine Repair Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This reference database provides detailed yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines. All of the content is organized in a powerful, easy-to-use manner so that users can quickly find the information they need.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
