Baker College
Research Guides
- Library Resources
- Research Guides
- General Education
- HUM 3610: Art Appreciation
- Michigan Museums & Festivals
HUM 3610: Art Appreciation
Museums in Michigan
Check out Museums in Michigan.
- Dennos Museum-- NW Michigan College, Travese City Inuit art comprises more than half of the collection of the Dennos Museum Center on the Northwestern Michigan College campus in Traverse City. The Dennos is also home to contemporary art by Michigan artists and Great Lakes and Canadian Indian art, and hosts Family Days, a film series, concerts and other performing arts programs.
- Detroit Insitiute of Art Detroit's premiere art museum
- Flint Institute of Arts The selection and presentation of exhibitions and related programming is at the heart of the FIA’s mission which is to advance the understanding and appreciation of art for all through collections, exhibitions, and educational programs.
- Grand Rapids Art Museum Opened in 2007, is noted for its collection of more than 3,500 prints, drawings and photographs as well as 19th and 20th century European and American painting and sculpture. GRAM regularly hosts special exhibitions.
- Krasl Art Center (St. Joseph) You have to leave the Krasl Art Center in St. Joseph to see its permanent collection, which consists of outdoor sculptures you can view on a self-guided SculpTour. The Krasl also hosts changing exhibits and an artlab showcase for area artists in its traditional indoor galleries.
- Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum (Saginaw Valley State University) Dedicated to the Detroit artist whose work is known the world over, the Marshall M. Frederick. The Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum and Sculpture Garden permanently displays over 200 examples from his 70-year career. The indoor/outdoor collection is located at Saginaw Valley State University.
- Muskegon Museum of Art The permanent collection includes fine examples of works Dale Chihuly, Edward Hopper, and John Steuart Curry. Museum admission is waived on Meijer Free Thursdays.
- University of Michigan Museum of Art Ann Arbor's collection began over 150 years ago, and now includes more than 18,000 pieces of Asian, African, European, American, Middle Eastern and Modern art. The University of Michigan Museum of Art improved its historic art museum building and opened an impressive new wing in 2009, more than doubling the size of the Ann Arbor address for works by Andy Warhol, Ansel Adams, Monet and Tiffany.
Art Festivals in Michigan
- Ann Arbor Street Art Fair Our mission is to increase public knowledge and appreciation for contemporary fine arts and fine crafts by creating opportunities that connect artists, the Ann Arbor community and the general public to their mutual benefit, culminating in a top quality juried street art fair.
- Art Prize (Grand Rapids) ArtPrize® is a radically open, independently organized international art competition and a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.