Baker College
Research Guides
Online & Graduate Studies Library
My eLibrary
Library Lingo
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
A
- Abstract
- A brief summary of the ideas presented in an article
- Advanced Search
- One of the search options available in any catalog, database or search engine. More efficient than the Basic search. Includes indexes to use boolean operators (AND, OR and NOT) to narrow down search results.
- Annotated Bibliography
- List of works with descriptions and a brief summary or critical statement about each. Can function as an independent work or part of a research work.
- Article
- Items in periodicals journals, magazines and/or newspapers.
- APA Writing Style
- A set of rules and guidelines for preparing manuscripts for publication in journals in the Social Sciences field. Rules/guidelines are detailed in Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
This is the approved writing style used in all assignments at Baker College. Manuscript guidelines are adjusted to suit the assignment requirements at Baker curriculum. There are handouts and templates at Baker Library site to help with this process. - ASK US
- A Virtual Reference Service for Baker Library users. This is a collaborative effort, where librarians from various campus cover this service at different times.
NOT a substitute for communicating with the campus library directly. - Audiovisual
- Materials in non-print format. Also known as media materials. Audio and video productions, films, records and software fall under this category.
- Autobiography
- Personal narration of a one's life.
B
- Barcode Number (also known as Library Number, Borrower Barcode,...)
- 14-digit number, beginning 23504..., that allows you access to the libraries' resources, such as checking out books and off-campus use of online databases. Being associated with your record at Baker, this number indicates that you are authorized to use the Baker library resources from home. The number is shown on the on the the back of your Baker ID card. You may look-up/verify in MyBaker: login with Baker username and password, click on purple Login Assistance button, and look under Account Information section.
- Bibliographic record
- Shows details of a book in the library catalog or an article in an online database. The record contains structured data corresponding to fields used in the database to allow users use various search criteria to locate a specified item. Some of the common fields in the bibliographic record are:
-
- Author(s) – person or organization responsible for the work.
- Titles, subtitles, translated, and commonly known titles.
- Title of periodical (journal/magazine/newspaper) containing the article
- Publisher
- Place of publication
- Date of publication
- ISBN (for books and eBooks) or ISSN (for periodicals)
- Call number, for hard copies of books
- Abstract or a summary, for a quick review of the contents of the item.
- Bibliography
- Source list of books, articles, web resources and items in other format used in a research work. Usually appears at the end of the work. Every item used in the work must be listed here and cross-referenced in the text of the document. In APA writing style this list is called References.
- Biography
- Narration of one's life by another writer.
- Book Review
- Critical analysis of a published book.
- Boolean Searching
- A method combining search terms using the boolean logic operators AND, OR, and NOT to broaden or narrow search results.
- Browser
- A computer application that allows you to view the contents of a Web site.
C
- Cache (Temporary Internet file)
- A file stored by your computer, which acts like an electronic footprint, allowing you to trace your steps back to Web sites you have visited earlier.
- Call Number
- A combination of numbers and letters that help locate a book in the library's physical collection. In other words, the address of the book on the shelf.
- Check out
- To borrow books or other materials from the library for a certain period of time.
- Circulating items
- Materials that could be checked out of (borrowed from) the library for a specific duration. Expected to be returned to the library by the due date specified.
- Citation
- bibliographic details of an item in a catalog or database.
Also denotes the notation added in the text part of the paper to lets the reader find complete information about the cited source in the reference list. - Controlled Vocabulary
- Customized list of index or database-specific search terms and keywords. Developed by respective vendors to go with the nature and scope of the contents and record format in their collection. Could vary form database to database.
- Concept Map
- A visual representation of a topic to “see” the relationship between various concepts identified within a topic. It is created using circles, and boxes, with arrows showing their connection with one another. Creating this visual representation while planning a research paper, helps understand what you know and don’t, and also will give you an idea how the paper would pan out.
- Cookie
- Small text file used by various Websites to collect information about you and your preferences in order to provide more personalized service.
- Cross Reference
- Keyword or terms that directs users to other database-specific terms and words.
D
- Database
- A searchable computer file of records. In the library, all online resources are databases containing a specific set of records. Book Catalog contains records about books and other materials in the library. An article database is a collection of articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers) and other subject specific information (maps, company reports, etc.).
- Libraries subscribe to article databases on a variety of subjects. These are placed in a password protected area and available only to authorized users.
- Dictionary
- A tool with alphabetically arranged entries, each providing the spellings, pronunciations, origin and history, modern definitions, usages or translations of a word according to each of its parts of speech.
E
- E-book
- Books in electronic format. Can be read online and/or downloaded to an eBook reader equipment for off-line use.
- Editorial
- An article expressing the viewpoint of the editor or publisher.
- Electronic
- Information stored and accesses via computers.
- Embargo
- Online access to current issues delayed by the specified period.
- Encyclopedia
- A reference work offering comprehensive information on a topic. General Encyclopedias cover all subject areas, whereas Subject Encyclopedias handle specialized areas of knowledge.
- Entry
- An item in a catalog, index, or database. May also mean an item in the reference list at the end of the paper.
- Evaluation
- A critical assessment of an information source, discussing the focus, value and scope of the source in relation to the current research.
F
- Field
- This is used in two contexts. Generally, it could mean an area of study business, nursing, education, etc. In relation to Bibliographic records, this would mean the specific part of the record author, date, title, etc.
- Finding aid
- A location/document/database that helps you find information. It could be a web site, library catalog or a database.
- Firewall
- A program that controls what information passes through between your browser and the Website you are viewing. The firewall also controls what programs on your computer may access the Internet.
- Focus
- The central point/theme of a document, book or a web site.
- Format
- Arrangement or layout of information. It could be print (books) or electronic/digital (eBooks, videos, etc.)
- Full text
- Normally used in connection with items in electronic/digital format where full article/book is available online can be read from the computer.
G
- Government Documents
- Documents prepared and published by government agencies.
H
- Hits
- Number of items in the results list from a search in a database.
- Holdings
- The materials available in the library collection books as well as periodicals (journals/magazines/newspapers) in the online databases.
I
- ID Card
- A card you get from your campus that contains identifying information so that staff or campus security can be sure you are a student at the campus. Not all ID cards have pictures on them, but they will all have your name, UIN, and your library number.
- Index
- Cumulative list of items in a source book or periodicals. Book catalog and article databases are also considered indexes, since they list all the items available in the library collection.
- Interlibrary Loan
- Resource sharing agreement between libraries. A book or journal article not available at the home library could be obtained from another library for your use. Books should be returned within the specified time. Articles are yours to keep. Loan period for books may be different from Baker's.
- Issue or Issue number
- Number assigned to specific issues of periodicals within a volume i.e. issues published within a year. This will be a consecutive number.
J
- JavaScript
- Small program embedded in the Web site, which performs minor tasks when you access the Website and click on certain links.
- Journal
- In library context, not a personal journal or a diary.
A periodical published by an academic press, scholarly society, or a professional organization, intended for scholars, students, professionals or experts, and featuring articles which disseminate results, critical interpretations or reviews of scholarly or scientific research in a particular subject discipline or profession.
K
- Keyword or Keyword Search
- A word that captures the main idea of a topic. This is the simplest form of search, help explore a particular subject or topic. The only drawback is that it will produce a long list of results with varying levels of relevance, resulting in a time consuming process of picking the right source article or book.
L
- Library Resources
- Another term that is used to collectively describe databases, e-books and journals found in Baker's electronic collection.
- Limit Options
- In the library catalog, databases and search engines, a means to restrict a search to include only items that contain a certain characteristic. In the catalog and databases common options include: availability in full-text, peer-reviewed titles, date of publication, source title, type of resource (book, video, periodical, etc.), language, and many more. In search engines, limit option to domains is a helpful feature.
- Literature review
- The word "Literature" in this context means information written on a subject/topic; not works of literary nature.
A literature review is the analysis and synthesis of published information on a particular subject, and may also relate to information published within a specific time period. It presents the views propounded in various sources, with an attempt to present the information in a new light, tying it with the current theories in the field. It shows the historical progression of the existing knowledge along with the author's original interpretation. Multiple sources on a subject/topic will be discussed in the process, showing the reader the path it might take in the future. - Loan period
- Length of time you can keep library material borrowed from the library.
M
- Magazine
- A periodical containing popular articles which are usually shorter or less authoritative than journal articles on the same subject. Written on popular subjects/topics and intended for general audience.
A periodical published by a commercial press, intended for a general readership. Usually features news stories or articles on popular topics written by journalists, reporters or others rather than by scholars, professionals or experts.
N
- Nesting
- a method that allows expressions to be combined in parentheses, and the search will process those in parentheses first before analyzing the entire expression.
Example: alcohol AND (adolescents OR teenagers) – will look for articles on alcohol as they relate to either adolescents or teenagers
P
- Peer-review
- A process used by journal publishers to ensure quality, authority and credibility of the articles they publish. Manuscripts submitted for publication are sent to experts (peers) in the field for verification of their relevance to existing knowledge and appropriateness for future research in the field.
Using authoritative articles from peer-reviewed journals (periodicals) will improve the quality of your work, helping you gain in-depth knowledge of a subject. - Periodicals
- Items published at regular intervals - minimum of three times a year - and intended to be continued indefinitely. Magazines, journals and newspapers belong to this category.
- Place hold
- Term indicating the facility to request books from the book catalog.
- Pop-up Window
- A small window that comes on automatically, verifying your decision or displaying an alert message. Gives you an option to re-consider your decision.
- Primary Sources
- Primary (or "original") sources are first-hand accounts of information. They include an original research report; an original account of event, such as an interview of a business professional; or an original creation such as a work of fiction, an audio/visual work, or even an e-mail note.
- Proximity searches
- A technique that produces results where the search terms occur within a specified distance from one other, indicating that the two concepts are closely related.
- Proximity operators:
-
-
W (within)
-
Wn (or w/n) – Search for two terms the latter of which occurs within n number of words afterthe first. Thus, the w operator establishes the order in which the terms much appear in retrieved records. A query such as “housing w5 sub-prime” will look for every record where the two search terms occur anywhere from 0 to 5 words apart.
-
W/PARA – Search for terms occurring within the same paragraph. A query like “computers w/para library” will pull up every available record with these terms occurring in the same paragraph.
-
W/DOC – Search for terms occurring within the same document. A query like “Martha Stewart w/doc insider trading” will pull up every available record with these terms occurring in the same paragraph.
-
- N (near)
- Nn (or n/n) – Search for two terms that are nwords apart in either order. Thus, a query like “tax n4 stress” where the two terms occur anywhere from 0 to 4 words apart, regardless of order in which the terms were entered.
-
- Publication
- A work that has been put together and distributed for an intended audience.
R
- Record
- Information about a single item in a database book catalog, or article database. Will contain multiple fields (author, title, etc.) related to the item type/format. Most databases facilities choosing the fields user likes to display.
- References
- Items (such a book, article, web site or items in other format) used in preparing a research paper or a report. Found at the end of the document.
- Reference material
- Items in the library collection that contains specific facts, data, or other brief bits of information. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals and directories, and special subject-specific materials in the library collection will be classified as Reference. These are usually not circulated: not checked out to users.
- Renewal
- Permission to keep a book or other materials for an extended period, in addition to the original loan period.
- Relevance Search
- Usually available in the article databases. Results are ranked according to how relevant they are to the search words entered. Relevance may be due to the occurrence of the search words in the title, subject headings, and other fields important to the database.
- Research Guides
- Research Guides are e-handouts with a list of suggested resources of for your research. The variety of resources includes databases, journals, books, web resources as well as multi-media items. Contain direct links to databases, eBooks and web resources.
Baker College Research Guides are available in the following categories: Program, Classes and Special Topics. View complete list here: https://guides.baker.edu/library
You may access this master list from any guide, clicking the Research Guides link at top left. - Research Methods
- Process of systematic analysis and approach to establish new knowledge or confirm/revise an existing theory. Commonly used methods include - not limited to the - following:
-
- Action Research: Involves literature review, data analysis, measurement techniques, and evaluation criteria to formulate hypotheses in order to define and solve problems.
- Applied Research: Uses data from laboratory and field research and suggest a solution for real-world problems.
- Theoretical or Scientific Research: To understand and formulate new knowledge about a topic. It can advance an existing theory or provide evidence to propose a new theory. Often used in academic research.
- Exploratory Research: Investigation of a problem similar to current ones with the premise that the variables are common to both situations.
- Evaluative research: Evaluative research aims to test the knowledge applied within a specific project instead of generating new knowledge or theories.
- Empirical Research: Empirical study sheds light on a specific problem in a real situation based on observed phenomena. The results of this research are intended to result in improvements to a profession (applied research) or solve a specific problem in the workplace (action research).
- Historical Research: Method aims to reconstruct the past through the collection, evaluation, and verification of facts found in archival records, surveys, research journals, and diaries.
- Qualitative Research: The purpose of this methods is to shed new light on an area of study by gaining insights into past and existing problems. It is based on people’s experiences and cannot be analyzed numerically. Methods include personal interviews, focus groups, and field studies.
- Quantitative Research – This type of research deals with standardized and structured measures, and often comes in the form of a survey using large samples. It attempts to explain a causal relationship between two variables. Data is collected in which statistics can be run to test the data.
- Survey research – a research method resting on the assumption that inferences about large populations can be made on the basis of a small survey sample.
- Research Paper
- A research paper is a work that presents the author's view of a topic, with the use of supporting resources on the subject. Author would develop a thesis statement (a focal point for the paper) and would try to draw a conclusion based on the statement. This is different from a literature review, where the author would just analyze and discuss the ideas represented in various sources, presenting a synthesized view of the topic.
- Research Strategy
- The methodology or plan followed to find specific information in a catalog, database or web site. Involves several techniques, to make the search efficient. Developing good skills cuts down on search time, increasing the ability to identify quality information easily.
S
- Scope
- Range of the content of a work, based on the central focus.
- Search Statement
- A phrase or combination of words that are entered to find information.
- Search Term
- Words used to find information. Search inquiry will look for the words in the order they are entered.
- Secondary Sources
- Secondary sources are "second-hand" accounts of information. To produce a secondary source, an author has taken someone else's original writings or observations and analyzed, synthesized, or summarized them. This repackaged material is a "second-hand" account of an original creation or observation. For example, a literature review paper is a secondary source which contains references to primary source material. Books or articles that explain or analyze primary sources. Example criticism of a literary work.
- Serial
- Another term for periodicals.
- Spyware:
- Software that performs certain behaviors such as advertising, collecting personal data, or changing the configuration of your computer without your consent.
- Subject Keyword
- Words used in describing a subject in a database. This relates to the Controlled Vocabulary. A Subject Keyword will bring up results of the use of the specific keyword used anywhere or in any combination in the subject field of the database.
- Subject Heading
- Exact term or phrase used in the Subject classification in a database. A Subject Heading search will bring up results ONLY when the term is used in the exact order as it appears in the subject field of the database.
T
- Tertiary Sources
- A tertiary source summarizes or synthesizes information from secondary sources. Indexes, digests, and other bibliographies are considered tertiary sources. Tertiary sources serve as excellent finding aids for secondary and primary information sources. Sources that contain information that is a distillation and/or collection of primary and secondary sources. Examples include encyclopedias, handbooks, indexes.
- Thesaurus
- List of controlled vocabulary used in a catalog or database. Help feature will usually list these. May also be available in the Advanced Search option in the databases look for Info button or Browse right next to the Index box.
- Thesis Statement
- The main idea or argument of a paper.
- Topic
- The broad subject content of a paper, article, book, etc.
- Truncation
- Shortening a word and end it with an asterisk, to substitute for additional characters.
Example: environment* – will retrieve results related to environment, environmentalism, and other variants and combinations featuring this word.
U
- URL
- An acronym for Uniform Resource Locator. It represents a unique location, or "address" of a resource located on the World Wide Web. Similar to a call number for library materials.
V
- Volume Number
- Number assigned to a periodical title published in a year. All issues published in a year will go under the same volume number. See also issue number.
W
- Wildcard
- Using a question mark replace a character, either inside or at the right end of a word. Multiple wild cards can be used to represent multiple characters.
Examples:
-- nurse? will find nurses
-- wom?n will find woman as well as women
-- ad??? will find added, adult, adopt - World Wide Web
- A computer network system that uses the Internet to access hypertext documents. Documents are linked to each other via hyper links, making navigation between documents and sites easier. Commonly called the "Web".