Baker College
Research Guides
- Library Resources
- Research Guides
- Business
- How to Research a Business
- Find Business Sources
How to Research a Business
Finding Business Articles
For additional databases, visit the Library Resources page and select Business - Company and Industry.
-
AtoZdatabases.com This link opens in a new window Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives and 2 million new businesses. Includes data on over 200 million residents as well as new movers/homeowners. Special features include a background and criminal history search. Information provided on U. S. healthcare professionals. Includes a jobs database and email marketing.
-
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window Access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, census data, job search solution and residential searching.
-
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Includes the following: * U.S. Company Data -- Covers 10,000+ public companies and their SEC (EDGAR) filings. * International Company Data * U.S. and International Annual Reports Financial reports can be downloaded to excel.
For additional databases, visit the Library Resources page and select Business - Company and Industry.
-
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business related scholarly and peer-reviewed sources and journals. Includes private and public company information, industry reports, case studies, SWOT analysis, market research reports, etc.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Encyclopedic articles in the following subject areas: biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
-
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
-
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
For additional databases, visit the Library Resources page and select Business - Company and Industry.
-
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
Hoover's Handbooks
-
Mergent Archives (formerly WebReports) This link opens in a new window Historical archive of corporate and industry related documents. Mergent Archives (formally WebReporter) contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.
Once inside Mergent Archives (formerly WebReports), you can access Hoover's Handbooks by clicking on the D&B Manuals link in the menu bar on the left side of the screen. Click on the Hoovers link.