Books, Before and Beyond: Publishing in the 21st Century
The Controversial Origins of the Encyclopedia - Addison AndersonThe first encyclopedia contained 70,000 entries and over 20,000,000 words. It was broken into 35 volumes written over the course of 3 decades. It was also banned by Louis XV and Pope Clement XIII. But why was this encyclopedia so controversial, and who wrote it in the first place? Addison Anderson recounts the controversial origins of the first encyclopedia.
The Evolution of the Book - Julie DreyfussWhat makes a book a book? Is it just anything that stores and communicates information? Or does it have to do with paper, binding, font, ink, its weight in your hands, the smell of the pages? To answer these questions, Julie Dreyfuss goes back to the start of the book as we know it to show how these elements came together to make something more than the sum of their parts.
History of PublishingTucker, D. H. , Unwin, . Philip Soundy and Unwin, . George (2020, October 1). History of publishing. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/topic/publishing
How Magazines Helped Shape American HistoryMcGreevy, N. (2021, February 23). How Magazines Helped Shape American history. Smithsonian.com. https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/how-magazines-shaped-us-history-180977069/.
Introduction to Media Studies: Historical DevelopmentThis book was created by the students in Cathie LeBlanc’s Fall 2017 sections of Plymouth State University’s CM2770 (Introduction to Media and Cultural Studies). As we learned about various media and created overviews of the history, current business issues, business models, and possibilities for the future of each medium, we realized that the students were learning and sharing a lot of useful information. So we decided to create this book for others to use.
The Strange and Colorful History of Billboard Advertisingjarthur. (2021, May 17). The strange and colorful history of billboard Advertising • BILLBOARD Connection Advertising. Billboard Connection Advertising. https://www.billboardconnectionadvertising.com/the-strange-and-colorful-history-of-billboard-advertising/.
For more databases, see Baker's Online Resources page. Off-campus, you will need to log in with Baker's two-step authentication to access the online resources.
Gale Opposing ViewpointsThis link opens in a new windowCovers pro/con issues in a variety of formats including peer reviewed articles, viewpoint articles, topic overviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and links to websites.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowContaining resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.