Baker College
Research Guides
ENG 2050: Mass Media and Society
Types of Digital Media
- Augmented Reality - a real-world environment that incorporates computer-generated data. (Example: Social Media Photo Filters)
- Blog - a website where someone regularly records their thoughts or experiences or talks about a subject.
- Database - a collection of data that is stored in a computer and that can easily be used and added to.
- Digital Photos - a collection of pixels that make up an image that is viewed on a screen.
- Electronic Books/eBook - a digital file containing a body of text and images suitable for distributing electronically and displaying on-screen in a manner similar to a printed book.
- Podcasts - an audio file similar to a radio broadcast, that can be downloaded and listened to on a computer or MP3 player.
- Social Media - websites and computer programs that make communication possible with the use of computers or mobile phones.
- Video Games - a computer game that you play by using controls or buttons to move images on a screen.
- Virtual Reality - an environment which is produced by a computer and seems very like reality to the person experiencing it.
- Websites - set of data and information about a particular subject which is available on the internet.
All definitions can be found on Britannica and Collins Dictionary
Videos
- Building More Creative Social Networks The algorithms that social media platforms use to recommend who we should “follow” are designed to steer us to people who likely share the same ideas and interests.
- Digital Communication Skills: Dos and Don’ts Films Media Group. (2015). Digital communication skills: Dos and don’ts. Films On Demand. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103126&xtid=58374.
- How video game skills can get you ahead in life | William Collis What does it take to be a pro gamer? Esports expert William Collis charts the rise of the multibillion-dollar competitive gaming industry and breaks down three skills needed to master video games like Fortnite, League of Legends and Rocket League. And watch out, Collis says: these skills can set you up for crushing it at work, too.
- How Virtual Reality Games Can Impact Society, Encourage Prosperity Video games give players super powers and transport them to new worlds. How might this technology be used to transform society? Economics correspondent Paul Solman visits researchers who use virtual reality to affect human behavior in the real world, from putting more money into savings to avoiding the use of plastic bags.
- Measuring and analyzing human behavior in the world of gaming As a "user research lead" at Microsoft Studios, psychologist Tim Nichols, PhD, gets paid to play. By applying psychological science to observe, measure and analyze human behavior in the world of gaming, he is able to help design and develop video games that challenge players and keep their interest.
- Most Popular Social Media Platforms 1997 - 2020 In this data visualization video I look at the most popular social media networks based on active accounts during that time. I also did not include streaming video platforms such as YouTube and Twitch, I will post those in a different video.
- TEDTalks: James Surowiecki—When Social Media Became News Is technology changing our concept of group behavior? Are people, when acting en masse, inevitably destructive or surprisingly intelligent? In this TEDTalk, James Surowiecki addresses those questions by pinpointing the moment in which social media became an equal player in the world of news-gathering. Surowiecki—a New Yorker finance writer and the author of The Wisdom of Crowds—examines the 2005 tsunami disaster, when YouTube, blogs, and texting emerged as the most effective methods for conveying global events.
Websites
- The Center for Internet and Society The Center for Internet and Society at Stanford Law School is a leader in the study of the law and policy around the Internet and other emerging technologies.
- The Impact of the Internet on Society: A Global Perspective OpenMind is a non-profit project run by BBVA that aims to contribute to the generation and dissemination of knowledge about fundamental issues of our time, in an open and free way. The project is materialized in an online dissemination community.
- Inside The E-Book 'War' Waging Between Libraries And Publishers Emanuel, G. (2020, January 6). Inside the e-book 'war' waging between libraries and publishers. GBH News. https://www.wgbh.org/news/local-news/2020/01/06/inside-the-e-book-war-waging-between-libraries-and-publishers.
- People say the internet brings economic and educational benefits – but some are concerned about the societal impact of social media Silver, L., Smith, A., Johnson, C., Jiang, J., Anderson, M., & Rainie, L. (2019, December 31). People say the internet brings economic and educational Benefits – but some are concerned about the societal impact of social media. Pew Research Center: Internet, Science & Tech. https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/2019/03/07/people-say-the-internet-brings-economic-and-educational-benefits-but-some-are-concerned-about-the-societal-impact-of-social-media/.
- Society and the Internet Encyclopædia Britannica
- We’re closer to holographic meetings than you think Estes, A. C. (2020, September 15). We're closer to holographic meetings than you think. Vox. https://www.vox.com/recode/2020/9/15/21434946/augmented-reality-future-remote-work-spatial-zoom-calls-feel-like-real-life.
Books & E-Books
Electronic Media by Publication Date: 2010
Media Studies by Publication Date: 2019
News in a Digital Age by Publication Date: 2019
Find Articles
For more databases, see Baker's Library Resources page. Off-campus, you will need to log in with Baker's two-step authentication to access the library resources.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Covers pro/con issues in a variety of formats including peer reviewed articles, viewpoint articles, topic overviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and links to websites.
- Points of View Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
- Emoji for the Medical Community—Challenges and Opportunities Lai, D., Lee, J., & He, S. (2021, September 7). Emoji for the medical community. JAMA. https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2783847.
- Science Daily ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.
- Social Media + Society Social Media + Society is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that focuses on advancing the understanding of social media and its impact on societies past, present and future. This journal is a member of Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).