Baker College
Research Guides
HSC 1110: Introduction to Healthcare
Find News & Current Events
- Gale Global Issues This link opens in a new window Covers issues of international importance and current world events focusing on broad issues, as well as more specific events and topics in the news. Includes detailed information on nations for cross-cultural studies.
- MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Coverage: 1980 - current
E-Books
The Affordable Care Act: Examining the Facts by Publication Date: 2016
Critical Perspectives on Health Care by Publication Date: 2019
Health Care Reform and American Politics: What Everyone Needs to Know (3rd ed.) by Publication Date: 2016
Section 1557 of the Affordable Care Act by Publication Date: 2017
Should the Government Pay for Health Care? by Publication Date: 2019
Policy and Reform Websites
- Cato Institute's Health, Welfare & Entitlements Papers Cato has been a longtime advocate of deregulating the health care industry.
- Commonwealth Fund A private foundation that aims to promote a high performing health care system.
- ECRI Institute ECRI Institute is an independent, trusted authority on the medical practices and products that provide the safest, most cost-effective care.
- HealthCare.gov Information about the Affordable Care Act.
- Kaiser Family Foundation A non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on major health care issues and policy.
- Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) An independent Congressional agency established to advise the U.S. Congress on issues affecting the Medicare program.
- National Center for Health Care Statistics (CDC) Provides statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
- National Conference of State Legislators (NCSL): Health A bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories.
- RAND Compare COMPARE is a microsimulation model that predicts the effects of health policy changes at national and state levels.
- Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Promoting evidence-based policies to improve health and well-being in America.
- West Health Policy Center The West Health Policy Center is focused on research and education to identify innovations and policy solutions that can slow the trajectory of rising healthcare costs while improving access to—and the quality of—care, particularly for our nation’s growing population of seniors.