Skip to Main Content
Canvas
MyBaker
BakerMail
IT Help
Library Help
Ask Us
APA Help
Campus Library Info.
ARC Homepage
Library Resources
Articles & Databases
Books & Ebooks
Videos
Baker College
Research Guides
Library Resources
Research Guides
POL 1010: Introduction to Political Science
Additional Resources
POL 1010: Introduction to Political Science
General Resources
Module 1
Required Readings
Additional Resources
Module 2
Required Readings
Additional Resources
Political Theory & Political Philosophy
Ancient Political Theory
Medieval Political Theory
Early Modern Political Theory
Modern Political Ideologies
Module 3
Required Readings
Additional Resources
Module 4
Required Readings
Additional Resources
Module 5
Required Readings
Additional Resources
Module 6
Required Readings
Additional Resources
Module 7-8
Required Readings
Additional Resources
Political Theory & Political Philosophy
1. Introduction: What is Political Philosophy?(Yale University, 2008)
Yale Open Course, "Introduction to Political Philosophy"
Meena Krishnamurthy, "On the Distinction between Political Philosophy and Political Theory" (November 1, 2013)
Bernard Crick, "Philosophy,Theory, and Thought"
Ancient Political Theory
Introduction
Greek & Hellene
Roman
Melissa Lane Introduction
Jed W. Atkins, "Greek and Roman Political Philosophy"
Melissa Lane, "Ancient Political Philosophy"
Research & Discussion Exercise: Athenian Democracy
Hurwit Article on the Chigi Vase
Kagan Article on Ostracism
Salmon Article on Political Hoplites
Snodgrass Article on Hoplite Reform and History
J. M. Camp, "Ostracized in Athens: Ancient Greeks Knew How to Dump Bad Pols"
Jacob N. Graham, "Ancient Greek Philosophy"
M. H. Hansen,
Was Athens a Democracy? Popular Rule, Liberty, and Equality in Ancient and Modern Political Thought
Skultety Review Article on Ancient Greek Political Thought
2. Socratic Citizenship: Plato's Apology
3. Socratic Citizenship: Plato's Crito
4. Philosophers and Kings: Plato's Republic, I-II
5. Philosophers and Kings: Plato's Republic, III-IV
6. Philosophers and Kings: Plato's Republic, V
7. The Mixed Regime and the Rule of Law: Aristotle's Politics, I, III
8. The Mixed Regime and the Rule of Law: Aristotle's Politics, IV
9. The Mixed Regime and the Rule of Law: Aristotle's Politics, VII
Jed W. Atkins, "Rights in Cicero's Political Theory"
Jed W. Atkins,
Roman Political Thought
Edward Clayton, "Cicero",
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Walter Nicgorski, "Cicero and the Natural Law"
Medieval Political Theory
Introduction
Augustine
Aquinas
Kilcullen and Robinson, "Medieval Political Philosophy"
Early Modern Political Theory
Introduction
Machiavelli
Bodin
Hobbes
Locke
Montesquieu
Rousseau
Machiavelli,
The Prince
Benner Chapter on Machiavelli
Benner Introduction on Machiavelli
Berlin Chapter on Machiavelli
McCormick Article on Machiavelli
McCormick Paper on Machiavelli
Viroli Article on Machiavelli
10. New Modes and Orders: Machiavelli's The Prince (Chaps. 1-12)
11. New Modes and Orders: Machiavelli's The Prince (Chaps. 13-26)
12. The Sovereign State: Hobbes' Leviathan
13. The Sovereign State: Hobbes' Leviathan
14. The Sovereign State: Hobbes' Leviathan
15. Constitutional Government: Locke's Second Treatise (1-5)
16. Constitutional Government: Locke's Second Treatise (7-12)
17. Constitutional Government: Locke's Second Treatise (13-19)
Rousseau,
The Social Contract
Gairdner Article on Rousseau
Morris Article on Popular Sovereignty
Noone Article on Rousseau
Simpson Article on Rousseau
18. Democracy and Participation: Rousseau's Discourse
19. Democracy and Participation: Rousseau's Discourse
20. Democracy and Participation: Rousseau's Social Contract, I-II
Modern Political Ideologies
Introduction
Liberalism
Conservatism
Socialism
Fascism
Feminism
Research and Discussion Exercise: Political Ideologies: An Introduction
Alexander Article on Liberalism, Conservatism, and Socialism
PowerPoint: The Impact of Political Ideologies
Ball & Dagger,
Ideals and Ideologies: A Reader
(9th ed.)
Andrew Heywood,
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Supporting Resources: Andrew Heywood,
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Research and Discussion Exercise: Political Ideologies: Liberalism
Alexander Article on Liberalism, Conservatism, and Socialism
Ball & Dagger,
Ideals and Ideologies: A Reader
(9th ed.)
Gaus, Courtland, and Schmidtz, "Liberalism",
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Archive
Andrew Heywood, "Chapter 2: Liberalism",
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Supporting Resources: Andrew Heywood,
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Research and Discussion Exercise: Political Ideologies: Conservatism
Alexander Article on Liberalism, Conservatism, and Socialism
Ball & Dagger,
Ideals and Ideologies: A Reader
(9th ed.)
Andy Hamiliton, "Conservatism",
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Archive
Andrew Heywood, "Chapter 3: Conservatism",
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Supporting Resources: Andrew Heywood,
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Research and Discussion Exercise: Politiclal Ideologies: Socialism
Alexander Article on Liberalism, Conservatism, and Socialism
Ball & Dagger,
Ideals and Ideologies: A Reader
(9th ed.)
Gilabert & O'Neill, "Socialism",
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Andrew Heywood, "Chapter 4: Socialism",
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Supporting Resources: Andrew Heywood,
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Research and Discussion Exercise: Political Ideologies: Facism
Ball & Dagger,
Ideals and Ideologies: A Reader
(9th ed.)
Davis & Lynch,
The Routledge Companion to Fascism and the Far Right
Andrew Heywood, "Chapter 7: Fascism",
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Supporting Resources: Andrew Heywood,
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Research and Discussion Exercise: Political Ideologies: Feminism
Ball & Dagger,
Ideals and Ideologies: A Reader
(9th ed.)
Andrew Heywood, "Chapter 8: Feminism",
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Supporting Resources: Andrew Heywood,
Political Ideologies: An Introduction
(6th ed.)
Noëlle McAfee, "Feminist Philosophy",
Standford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Archive
<<
Previous:
Required Readings
Next:
Module 3 >>
