Research Guides: SWK 1110: Poverty and Culture: Library Resources for Human Services

E-Books

For additional e-books, search the e-book databases.
Off-campus, you will need to log in with Baker's two-step authentication to access the library resources.

Gale eBooks Encyclopedic articles in the following subject areas: biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
ProQuest Ebook Central Electronic versions of printed books. E-books can be viewed on any device connected to the internet. Some are available for download.

For additional databases, see Baker College's Library Resources.

Off-campus, you will need to log in with Baker's two-step authentication to access the library resources.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
The Directory of Open Access Journals A community-curated list of open access journals. The database contains over 15,000 open access scientific and scholarly journals covering areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.
Gale PowerSearch Search all Gale/InfoTrac databases.
ProQuest - Search All Searches all ProQuest databases.

Flipster (EBSCO) Flipster provides users with digital magazines that are easy to read on a computer or mobile device. With Flipster, users have access to a self-serve digital newsstand with easy sign-in through the library.

Check out the resources below.

To find videos on all subjects, visit the Videos Guide.

Library Databases:

Films on Demand Over 28,000 multi-disciplinary streaming media titles from A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, MacNeil/Lehrer Productions, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.

Websites:

PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) "PBS is a membership organization that, in partnership with its member stations, serves the American public with programming and services of the highest quality, using media to educate, inspire, entertain and express a diversity of perspectives." (PBS website)
TED: Ideas Worth Spreading "TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less)." (TED website)
WatchKnowLearn "...provide a world-class, online domain on which educators can store, categorize, and rate the best, K – 12 educational videos on the Internet today. " (WatchKnowLearn website)
YouTube EDU YouTube channel providing education videos.