The World Factbook (CIA)"...provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities." (CIA: The World Factbook website)
Library of Congress Country Studies"...presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world." (LoC Country Studies website)
U.S. Department of State A-Z List of Countries"Covering nearly 200 countries...typically cover geography, history, government and political conditions, economy, and state of relations with the United States. Also highlights detailed travel notes, including passport applications, visa requirements, regulations and duties, medical information, and national holidays, as well as international adoption regulations and annually updated comprehensive terrorism reports. " (Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook, 2011)
For additional databases, visit the Online Resources page. Off-campus, you will need to log in with Baker's two-step authentication to access the online resources.
A to Z World Culture (World Trade Press)This link opens in a new windowProfiles of 175 countries. Includes information about business etiquette, travel, religion, holidays, women, stereotypes, and greetings.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowHumanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.